## THE DOVER SOCIETY Minutes of the 34th Annual General Meeting Held on 25th April 2022

- Apologies
- 2. Minutes of the 2021 AGM held by zoom. Agreed without dissent
- 3. Matters arising. There were none.
- 4. Chairman's report Derek Leach
- a) Those present observed a minute's silence in memory of deceased members noted in the Newsletter.
- b) Chairman's update following upon his report included in the March 2022 Newsletter.
- i) Graham Margery is regrettably standing down as Chair of the Planning Committee.
- ii) Occasional meetings with DDC directors had been resumed
- iii) We hope to plant a tree in Pencester Gardens to commemorate the Queen's Platinum Jubilee
- iv) The installation of Blue Plaques is to be resumed.
- v) Planning Committee members visited Citadel to hear of new owner's intentions.
- vi) Approval sought and granted to the appointment of life Vice Presidents Jeremy Cope, former Chairman and Secretary, Sheila Cope, former Membership Secretary and Mike Weston, former Treasurer.
- 5. Treasurer's Report Mike Weston

This was Mike Weston's last report as Treasurer. Mike enlarged on the Financial Statement distributed to members. Finances were in satisfactory shape with a surplus on the General fund of £1144. Comments on elements of the accounts included subscriptions (very slightly up), no outings but members' meetings reinstated., Newsletter costs similar to last year, Jean Marsh thanked for work in selling adverts which brought in £760. Administration including insurance and photocopying and printing were less but postage increased. Room costs for Committee meetings restarted following the pandemic. Interest received was derisory. Donations given £80 with £94 received. Gift Aid received was £579 - taxpaying members were urged to sign up. Miscellaneous costs of £99 included wreaths and sundry refreshment items for members' meetings.

The Treasurer then described the various funds; Projects (included a generous donation of £300), Publications, Town Hall Fund, and funds held for River Dour Partnership and Bluebird Trail.

The Treasurer's report and financial statement (subject to audit) were accepted.

- Election of Officers carried without dissent.
   Chairman Jenny Olpin, Vice Chairman Derek Leach, Secretary Leslie Easton, Treasurer Jane Jones.
- Election of Members of the Executive Committee carried without dissent
   Anne Burke Membership Secretary, Lyn Smith Winter Social Secretary, Alan Lee Newsletter Editor,

   Terry Sutton Press Secretary, Graham Margery Acting Chair Planning & Local Government, Janet Dagys
   Environment, Deborah Gasking Ecological and Other Projects, Martyn Webster Plaques, William Parker-Gorman
   Web Page, Jean Marsh Advertising Secretary, Alan Sencicle, Pat Sherratt.

Ex Officio Member. Rodney Stone Summer Social Secretary.

- 8. Any Other Business. There was none.
- Resolution to amend the Constitution.

As part of updating the Constitution with the Charity Commission, Members are asked to reconfirm their decision made at 2021AGM. The meeting confirmed The Executive Committee's proposed revision to describe the area of benefit to match town and parish councils with that used by Dover District Council. The area as described in the revision is not materially different but brings the definitions up to date.

The revised wording now confirmed as appropriate by the Charity Commission, if approved, will read:-The Society is established for the public benefit for the following purposes in the area comprising part of Dover District Council particularly the areas covered by Dover Town Council, Guston Parish Council, Hougham Without Parish Council, Langdon Parish Council, Lydden Parish Council, River Parish Council, St Margaret's at Cliffe Parish Council,

Temple Ewell Parish Council, Whitfield Parish Council, which area hereinafter will be referred to as the area of benefit. The Executive Committee may revise the aforesaid list of named Parish Councils within Dover District Council area and comprising the area of benefit subject to confirmation by a simple majority vote of the subsequent Annual General Meeting

- (i) To promote high standards of planning and architecture in or affecting the area of benefit.
- (ii) To educate the public in the geography, history, natural history and architecture of the area of benefit.
- (iii) To secure the preservation, protection, development and improvement of features of historic or public interest in the area of benefit.

The above amendments were carried without dissent.

## THE DOVER SOCIETY

## 35th Annual General Meeting: 7.30pm Monday 17th April 2023 At St Mary's Parish Centre

Resolutions for discussion and nominations for officers and committee members should be submitted to Jeremy Cope, 53 Park Avenue, Dover CT16 1HD, jeremycope@willersley.plus.com by Friday 31<sup>st</sup> March 2023. Nominations should be supported by a proposer and seconder and the written consent of the potential candidate.

## **AGENDA**

- 1) Apologies
- 2) Minutes of the meeting held on 25th April 2022
- 3) Matters Arising
- 4) Chairman's update. Report included in the March 2023 Newsletter
- 5) Appointment of a President Derek Leach
- 6) Treasurer's Report
- 7) Election of Officers

The following members are proposed by the Executive Committee.

Chairman Jenny Olpin
Treasurer Jane Jones
Election of New Officers to currently vacant roles

Vice Chairman (Acting)

Graham Margery (proposed by Jenny Olpin and seconded by Derek Leach)

Hon. Secretary

Graham Margery (proposed by Jenny Olpin and seconded by Jenny Olpin)

8a) Election of the Executive Committee - Executive Roles

Membership Secretary
Social Secretary
Editor
Environmental
Ann Burke
Lyn Smith
Alan Lee
to be appointed

Planning & Local Govt. Graham Margery and Ann Burke (proposed by Jenny Olpin and seconded by Derek Leach)

Advertising Manager Jean Marsh Web Master to be appointed

Projects including

Ecological matters Deborah Gasking Plaques Martyn Webster

Executive Members Alan Sencicle, Patrick Sherratt, Derek Leach, Mike Weston

8b) Non-Executive Roles

Media Officer Terry Sutton
Email Communications Jeremy Cope
Summer Social Secretary Rodney Stone

9) Election of Audit Committee John Morgan, John Widgery

10) Any Other Business

Following the interval, the speaker will be Andrew Nunn 'The Duke of York's Royal Military School'