The Dover Society - New President

Terry Sutton

Derek Leach OBE, the former Customs officer behind so much of Dover's life, is the new President of The Dover Society of which he was chairman for many years. The office of President has been vacant since the retirement of the late Brigadier Maurice Atherton.

Mr Leach, of River, was elected to the post at the society's annual meeting on March 17th when Mrs Jenny Olpin was re-elected chairman

Mr Leach, former chairman of the port community group, is the inspiration behind the multi-million project to upgrade Dover's 12th century Maison Dieu Town Hall, now in progress. For several years he organised the annual opening to visitors of many of Dover's historic buildings. He is also the author of a string of books about Dover's history.

At the annual meeting, re-elected, were Graham Margery (Vice Chairman), Jane Jones (Treasurer). Carol Duffield (Secretary), Ann Burke (Membership Secretary), Alan Lee (Newsletter Editor), Lyn Smith (Winter Social Secretary), Lesley Easton (Environment), Graham Margery and Ann Burke (Joint Chair Planning and Local Government). Jean (Advertising), Alan Lee (Webmaster) while Deborah Gasking was appointed for Ecological matters, Martyn Webster for siting the society's Blue Plaques, Mike McFarnell Deputy Webmaster and Jeremy Cope Email Correspondence. John Widgery and John Morgan were re-elected as the Audit Committee.

MEMBERSHIP NEWS

Hot Summer Reminder - Ann Burke

What a warm season of weather we are having, everything in the garden is blooming and growing with the recent rain. Our numbers are growing too, and we have had quite a few new members. We also have some members who are yet to renew, we are still only charging £6 a year! What a bargain in these difficult times. You can pay by cash, my address is at the front of the Newsletter, or by cheque. Standing Order is becoming more popular now and if you wish to do this, let me know and I will get a form to you quickly.

When you look around Dover there are so many things that the Society is part of, and we are all proud of our town. If you have an email address or a new email address, can you let us know please, my email address is annandjeff02@gmail.com, sometimes we hear of events that you may be interested in, and it would be nice to let more people know what is happening around Dover.

Our new members are Jane East, Rod and Flo Springett, Mrs Madeline Heley, Sian McEwen, Teresa Kilroy, Dennis Tansley, Dr & Mrs Carrick Richards, Mr Shane Batten, Robert Walsh, Peter Greenless, Gordon Little, Eleanor Brooks, Gillian Weaver, Derek Aston and Mrs S Reynolds

We have sadly heard of the passing of Bill Browning, Mr Phil Headon, Mrs Helen Miller and Gloria Morgan, we pass on our sincere condolences to their families and friends.