Sort file:- Gravesend, October, 2021.

Page Updated:- Sunday, 31 October, 2021.


Earliest 1792

Prince of Wales

Latest 2006

1-2 East Milton Road



Prince of Wales

Above photo, date unknown.

Prince of Wales 2002

Above photo, 2002, by Tom Baines.

Prince of Wales matchbox

Above matchbox, circa 1980s, kindly send by Debi Birkin.


From 27 November, 2013

The old Prince of Wales pub on East Milton Road is set to be turned into four houses, six flats and a Morrisons store.

Plans submitted to Gravesham council by Moat Homes say they will provide 20 car parking spaces - 10 for homeowners and 10 for shoppers.

Prince of Wales area 2013

Above photo shows the site for the planned homes and Morrisons in Gravesend. Picture via Google Street View.

The pub, next to Denton Fish Bar, was demolished about seven years ago but developers say a Morrisons store “has been deemed suitable by a number of large retailers as a sustainable location for an out of town centre which will bring back employment use to the site”.

English Heritage has voiced concerns over the idea as it is next to St Peter and St Paul's church which is Grade II* listed.

The group said: “The church and surrounding graveyard are appreciated in uninterrupted, unchallenged and long established views along the East Milton Road.

"The proposals are likely to overshadow, rather than complement, the existing church.”

Gravesham council is expected to make a decision by February.


Prince of Wales site 2016

Above photo, 2016, kindly sent by Ian Goodrick, showing the site of the pub.


Burials St Peter & St Paul, Milton next Gravesend 1846-1864.

24 Dec 1846 James Pitman, Prince of Wales Tavern aged 68.

24 Jun 1847 Joseph Seville, Prince of Wales aged 22.

18 Jun 1851 Daniel Lynn, Prince of Wales Tavern aged 6.


From the Gravesend reporter, North Kent and South Essex Advertiser, Saturday 15 May 1880.

The "Prince of Wales," East Milton, Gravesend, (next to Milton church.)

Is the place of all places to spend a happy day.

The Proprietor has much pleasure in informing his numerous friends and the public generally that having now completed the extensive alterations, both in the Hotel and Pleasure grounds, invites one and all to come and see for themselves the Gem of Gems.

All lovers of the good old English game of bowling are invited to come and play on the best bowling green in Kent, free of charge, or enjoy a glass of the bowler's noted ale, amidst the choices collection of roses to be seen for miles round, and view the river with its ever-changing panorama, provided by the shipping too and from all parts of the world. The "Prince of Wales" is 10 minutes' walk from the North Kent Railway Station and the Town and Terrace Piers, at which all steam boat from London and the Railway from Fenchurch Street land their passengers. The above hotel will now be found replete in every convenience for large and small dinner parties at London prices.

Wines, spirits and beers, of the best quality only.

C. J. Payne, Proprietor.



STRUTT William 1832-40+ Pigot's Directory 1832-34

PITMAN James to 1846 dec'd

LYNN Frederick George 1851-55+ (age 39 in 1851Census)

SMITH William 1865+

CONNOR Thomas 1870-74+

HORWOOD Thomas & Walter George 1878+

PAYNE Charles Thomas 1880-82+ (age 34 in 1881Census)

FELTON Henry 1891+

COTTAM Frederick 1903+ Kelly's 1903

ROBINSON George 1913+

FELLGATE Herbert H 1922+

Last pub licensee had NOCK Tom & Ann late 1960s+


Pigot's Directory 1832-34From the Pigot's Directory 1832-33-34

Kelly's 1903From the Kelly's Directory 1903



If anyone should have any further information, or indeed any pictures or photographs of the above licensed premises, please email:-